Oh yes, it’s ladies night!

…oh what a night!

OK, so we really didn’t go crazy. At all. We are all moms with young kids and were asleep by 10:45 on the second night of our girls’ weekend, thinking to ourselves, “OH MY GOSH IT IS SO FRIGGING LATE.” Haha :)

Following in a recently established annual tradition, last weekend I was privileged to spend two nights at a local resort (thank you, corporate discount!) with some of the most beautiful, loving, encouraging and funny ladies I know. AND we were lucky enough to hear national author Margaret Feinberg speak at our church’s women’s retreat (more on that later!). Doesn’t get much better!

The LadiesThe 6 of us attend the same church and are part of a group that basically does life together.  Our kids play together, we bring meals to each other when we have a newborn or are sick, we text pictures of our kids’ Major Poop Incidents to each other. (That is assuming we aren’t present for said Major Poop Incidents; I have literally wiped my friends’ [newborn] daughter’s poop off the floor at Dunkin Donuts while she whisked her out to the car for a hose down… [TMI??]) Enter song: “That’s What Friends Are For…”

But this weekend marked a BIG milestone for me. Because one year ago was the first time I actually TALKED in depth about my depression to anyone besides my husband. And these women were there for me then, and still are. They saw me weep, laugh, and weep some more. I said things to them I had said only in my mind. I told them things that probably didn’t make any sense and, in hindsight, might have scared them. I have never in my life been so vulnerable with anyone. (Read: it was A REALLY BIG DEAL.)

I think of it as my “coming out”, in a way. For some reason, struggling with depression is considered socially “taboo” in many circles. If you are truly struggling with it, you certainly aren’t talking about it. And because no one talks about it, you think you’re the only one who is struggling with it. It is, pardon my language, bull shit.

Every psychiatrist will tell you that admitting and accepting that you have depression is a very important step in the healing process. Taking the HUGE step of openly talking with my friends about my struggle with depression is one of the biggest elements of my treatment plan toward my recovery and victory. I am so, so grateful that these women are in my life, and are so honest, raw, loving and accepting. I truly don’t think I could’ve come as far as I have without them and their support.

Needless to say, this past weekend was great. We got a much needed break from the daily grind, and some time to reflect on the past year and to catch up on each other’s lives. (Isn’t it amazing how we can see each other so often yet not actually talk about anything important?? Too much “Mommy??? Mommy?? Mommy!!!”)

I got 9 hours of UNINTERRUPTED sleep, AND not a single Major Poop Incident occurred. Yep. I’m feeling good! :)

One thought on “Oh yes, it’s ladies night!

  1. Pingback: My Battle Plan: 7 ways I’m fighting depression | Life in Full Bloom

What do you think?

